Tuesday, May 27, 2008

about meme

Besides winning my contest, Catie tagged be for a meme a few days ago. So here goes...

The rules: Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

1) What was I doing ten years ago?
I was 20, and in my second year of university (UNBC in Prince George) studying Plant Science. If I remember right, I was taking courses like Invertebrate Zoology, Ecology, and Plant Biology. At this point I was still very shy and dressed kind of nerdy, although I had finally gotten rid of my huge ugly glasses.

2) What are five (non-work) things on my to-do list for today:
One: read blogs
two: plant herbs
three: read a book (Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett)
four: make supper (use parsnips and jerusalem artickokes from the farmer's market)
five: watch a movie (either Blade Runner or Much ado about Nothing).

3) Snacks I enjoy:
Popcorn, fresh and dried fruit, chocolate, extra-yummy and fatty yogurt

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
This would be a combination of practical and charitable. First, buy a house near the ocean or a lake with enough land to start a farm so we could be self-sufficient (meanwhile learning how to farm). Next, invest enough money to keep us comfortably and help out family. Last, invest in organizations that I think will really help people, such as providing clean water and sanitation, developing drought-resistant crops, producing clean-burning cooking fuel, stuff like that.

5) Places I have lived:
I grew up in Fruitvale, BC. I went to university in Prince George, BC, spending some summers working in places like Crawford Bay and Fort St. James. I lived in Pyongchang, South Korea, for 2 weeks (I was supposed to be there a year - long story). I lived in Sidney, BC, for a few months, then went back to Prince George for graduate studies. Finally I made it to Montreal, and I've been here about three and a half years.

6) Jobs I have had:
Babysitter; prep cook and dishwasher in a summer camp, Chinese restaurant, and a golf resort restaurant; greenhouse worker at garden centres; research assistant; teaching assistant; gardener; and now a toy designer.

7) Peeps I want to know more about:

I know I should tag more, but I don't comment often enough on other blogs. I'm afraid they'll think I'm a weirdo for tagging them.


Anonymous said...

neat to know more about you!
i am next!
thanks for tagging me!

Catie said...

OMG! Fruitvale? My husband grew up in Rossland and we would love to move there once my PhD is complete! This is fun, I like the random connections that I am finding out about.